PNG PMs XIII side named

The PNG Rugby Football League has announced an 18 man squad for the NGCB Prime Ministers XIII match between the PNG Kumuls and Australia Kangaroos on October 6th in Port Moresby.

To be known as the NGCB PM's XIII team, the squad includes three debutants among experienced hands from this year’s Pacific test and the 2017 World Cup teams.

The team was announced in Port Moresby this afternoon.

The team includes three new faces in Daniel Russel, Edene Gabi, and Justin Laybutt.

Notable exclusions from the Pacific Test Team from this year are Adex Wera, Junior Rau, Kurt Baptist, Luke Page, Richard Pandi, Rod Griffin, Thompson Teteh.

PNG RFL Board Chairman Sandis  Tsaka, says for the first time they have worked with the NRL and English competitions to put the best team forward.

Coach Michael Marum says the team will meet on Wednesday to go through medicals and fitness tests.

He added there are a four shadow players who are on standby pending the medical and tests of the selected players.

Marum said a number of players had to pull out due to family commitments and injuries as well as suspensions.

Other players such as Justin Olam and Lachlan Lam who are part of the extended squads for the NRL Grand Final will arrive next week.

The PNG LNG Kumuls PMs 13 team in alphabetical order include:

  1. Daniel Russel – South Logan Magpies (Intrust Super Cup)
  2. David Mead – Catalans Dragons (Super League)
  3. Edene Gabi – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  4. Enock Maki – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  5. James Segeyaro – Cronulla Sharks (NRL)
  6. Juston Olam – Melbourne Storm (NRL)
  7. Justin Laybutt – North Queensland Cowboys (NRL)
  8. Lachlan Lam – Sydney Roosters
  9. Moses Meninga – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  10. Nene McDonald – St. George Illawara (NRL)
  11. Nixon Putt – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  12. Rhadley Brawa – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  13. Rhyse Martin – Canterbury Bulldogs (NRL)
  14. Stanton Albert – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  15. Tom Butterfiled – Easts Tigers (Intrust Super Cup)
  16. Watson Boas – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
  17. Wellington Albert – Widnes Vikings (Super League
  18. Willie Minoga – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Cedric Patjole