PNG side announced for 9s Commonwealth champs

A 20-man squad has been named for the 2018 Rugby League Commonwealth Championship.

This follows the successful staging of the first ever PNG Rugby Football League Super 9s held over the weekend in Goroka.

The Goroka Lahanis won the tournament after thrashing Chimbu Warriors 42-20 in yesterday’s final.

The squad:

1.         Jar Hogan                    -           Goroka Lahanis

2.         Jordan Karo                -           Northern Confederate

3.         Nicky Haea                 -           Goroka Lahanis

4.         Stafford Talita            -           Hela Wigmen

5.         Yabra Kuk                  -           Simbu Warriors

6.         Emmanuel Herea         -           Gulf Isou

7.         John Ragi Jnr              -           Rabaul Gurias

8.         Epel Kapinias              -           Rabaul Gurias

9.         Dickson Amba                        -           Rabaul Gurias

10.       Raven Johna                -           Mt Hagen Eagles

11.       Ross Ravu                   -           Gulf Isou

12.       Paul Nelson                 -           Hela Wigmen

13.       Ilias Stanley                -           Rabaul Guirias

14.       Rex Kaupa                  -           Southern Confederate

15.       Jordan Millie               -           Goroka Lahanis

16.       Nemiah Joel                -           Simbu Warriors

17.       Norman Braun            -           Goroka Lahanis

18.       Schwazer Kandaki      -           Simbu Warriors

19.       Joshua Jimmy              -           Simbu Warriors

20.       Chris Taria                   -           Southern Confederate

Coach:             Colin Geno                  – Gulf Isou

Assistant Coach / Trainer:       -           Glen Nami      

Chairman of the PNGRFL, Sandis Tsaka, said the squad will be further trimmed down to 15 before the team travels to Brisbane on Thursday.

The Rugby League 9s tournament will be held at Dolphin Stadium on February 23 and 24 in the lead-up to the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

PNG are the defending champions, wining the inaugural Commonwealth Rugby League Championship back in 2014 by beating Australia 22-8.

Troy Taule